Generally, child support is required until a child turns 18. However, Virginia law recognizes specific situations when child support may be extended.
Financial Support Until A Child Turns 19
Eighteen is the legal age in Virginia. While your child may technically be an adult at that point, there are a few situations when an 18-year-old may still need child support. Accordingly, Virginia law may require payments to continue until a child’s 19th birthday under the following circumstances:
- The child is still in high school full time.
- The child is not self-supporting.
- The child lives in the home of the parent who is receiving child support payments.
Financial Support After a Child Turns 19
Virginia law allows child support payments to continue after a child’s 19th birthday under the following circumstances:
- The person is severely and permanently mentally or physically disabled and was severely and permanently mentally or physically disabled while previously eligible for child support.
- The person is unable to be self-supporting or to live independently.
- The person is living in the home of the other parent who is currently receiving or who is seeking child support payments.
Parents may also enter a voluntary agreement for child support payments after a child turns 19 years old, and a Virginia court will typically approve and enforce these types of voluntary agreements. Additionally, parents may enter agreements about paying for college expenses or supporting a child in college, but these are not considered child support issues.
Contact Quest Law PLLC
Whether you are seeking continued child support payments or you want child support payments to end, it is important to speak with an experienced Virginia family lawyer about your rights and about how to achieve your goals. Contact Quest Law PLLC to learn what to do about child support as your child becomes an adult.