What should I do if I’m arrested for domestic assault in Virginia?

You have been charged with a serious crime. Depending on the specific circumstances of the alleged domestic assault incident, you may be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor or a Class 6 felony, and you may be sentenced to jail time if you are convicted.

Understand the Domestic Assault Charges Against You #

In Virginia, state law makes it a crime to commit an assault or battery against a family member. Family members include spouses, ex-spouses, people who have children together, people who live together or have lived together within the past year, parents, children, grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, and in-laws who live with you.

The potential penalties for a domestic assault conviction are significant. The first time you are found guilty of the crime, as described above, you will be convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor, and you will face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. If you are found guilty of domestic assault two or more times, you will be convicted of a Class 6 felony, and you will face up to five years in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.

Don’t Wait to Call a Virginia Criminal Defense Attorney #

Sometimes arrests are made for domestic assault when a domestic assault did not happen. If you believe that you are not guilty of this crime, it is essential to understand how to defend yourself so that you avoid jail time, complications to your family relationships, and any impact on your employment or security clearance.

An experienced criminal defense lawyer will examine all of the evidence including photos, medical records, and witness statements. If the assault never occurred, you were acting in self-defense, or the crime does not meet the specific elements of Virginia law, we will fight hard to make sure that you are not held accountable for a crime you did not commit. Call us or fill out our online contact form today to learn more.

IT Support by SADOSSecure, Fast Hosting for WordPress